Breaking News Politics


MUMBAI, Jul. 2, 2023 (TBINN)

The swearing-in of Nationalist Congress Party leader Ajit Pawar and several of his colleagues as Deputy Chief Minister and ministers, respectively, today, has meant Maharashtra has seen four oath-taking ceremonies in as many years at its stately Raj Bhavan.

In November 2019, after the Assembly polls and the split between Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena, Devendra Fadnavis and N.C.P.’s Ajit Pawar were sworn in as C.M. and Deputy C.M., respectively, in an early morning ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

The government lasted just 80 hours as Ajit Pawar was unable to cause a split in his party.

Within a month, Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as C.M. after his party joined hands with the N.C.P. and Congress to form Maha Vikas Agahdi Government.

Incidentally, Ajit Pawar, who returned to the N.C.P., was deputy C.M. in this government.

The M.V.A. Government fell in June last year after minister Eknath Shinde and 39 M.L.A.s revolted against Udgav Thackeray and split Shiv Sena.

Eknath Shinde was sworn in as C.M. on June 30, 2022 with the support of B.J.P. This time, Fadnavis as made Deputy C.M.

While Bhagat Singh Koshyari was governor when the first three oath-taking ceremonies took place, today’s political developments have come when Ramesh Bais is occupying the gubernatorial chair.

Assembly polls in Maharashtra are likely to be held around October next year, some months after the Lok Sabha elections.

May be an image of 7 people, dais and text that says "Ajit Pawar Becomes New Dy cm: Maha, Sees Four Dath-Taking Ceremonies Since 2019"

About the author

The Bharat India

TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM is India's Best Hindi /English News Channel.TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM News Channel Covers The Latest News, Breaking News, Politics, Entertainment News, Business News and Sports News. Stay tuned for all the News in Hindi/English.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment