NEW DELHI, Jan. 5, 2024 (TBINN)

Aam Aadmi Party (A.A.P.) today nominated Delhi Commission for Women Chief Swati Maliwal as its Rajya Sabha M.P. and renominated Sanjay Singh and N.D. Gupta for second term in the Upper House of Parliament.

Nominations were announced by the party’s Political Affairs Committee (P.A.C.), chaired by A.A.P. national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Chairperson of D.C.W. Swati Maliwal has been nominated for the first time. The P.A.C. has decided to continue with Sanjay Singh and N.D. Gupta for their respective second term as Rajya Sabha members, the party said.

The committee decided to endorse two existing members for re-nomination, whereas, Sushil Kumar Gupta expressed his intent to redirect his focus towards the electoral politics of Haryana, it said.

Sushil Kumar Gupta’s tenure as a member of the Rajya Sabha will end later this month. He has conveyed his aspiration to actively engage in the vibrant electoral landscape of Haryana and we respect his decision to pursue this path, a senior A.A.P. leader said.

Chairperson of D.C.W. Swati Maliwal is also an active advocate for women’s rights and social issues. Swati has been associated with various campaigns and movements aimed at combating violence against women, advocating for stricter laws, and promoting gender equality.

In 2015, she was appointed as Chairperson of D.C.W., where she has been instrumental in spearheading initiatives to address issues such as acid attacks, sexual harassment and women’s safety in Delhi.

A court here has allowed Sanjay Singh, who is in jail in a money laundering case related to the alleged Delhi Excise Policy Scam, to sign forms and documents for his Rajya Sabha renomination.

About the author

The Bharat India

TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM is India's Best Hindi /English News Channel.TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM News Channel Covers The Latest News, Breaking News, Politics, Entertainment News, Business News and Sports News. Stay tuned for all the News in Hindi/English.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment