Breaking News National News


MUMBAI, Jul. 3, 2023 (TBINN)

Nationalist Congress Party (N.C.P.) has moved a petition before Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Rahul Narwekar, seeking disqualification of Ajit Pawar and eight other M.L.A.s who have taken oath as ministers in the Eknath Shinde-led Government.

Jitendra Awhad, whom the N.C.P. has appointed Leader of Opposition in the Maharashtra Assembly after Ajit Pawar joined ruling alliance, personally delivered the petition at Narwekar’s residence late Sunday night, as per sources.

On contact, Narwekar’s office confirmed the petition has been received. Maharashtra N.C.P. president Jayant Patil has said his party has moved the disqualification petition against Ajit Pawar and eight others. He said an e-mail has also been sent to the Election Commission of India informing that the rank and file of the N.C.P. is with party chief Sharad Pawar.

Notably, party founded by Sharad Pawar in 1999 suffered a vertical split on Sunday after his nephew Ajit Pawar broke ranks and joined the Shiv Sena-B.J.P. Government as Deputy Chief Minister.

Eight other N.C.P. M.L.A.s, including staunch Sharad Pawar loyalists like Chhagan Bhujbal and Dilip Walse Patil, were made ministers.

Patil said these M.L.A.s cannot be called traitors as their betrayal has not yet been proved.

Many are in touch with us, he added

About the author

The Bharat India

TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM is India's Best Hindi /English News Channel.TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM News Channel Covers The Latest News, Breaking News, Politics, Entertainment News, Business News and Sports News. Stay tuned for all the News in Hindi/English.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment