Breaking News Politics


NEW DELHI, Aug. 20, 2023 (TBINN) Congress’ president Mallikarjun Kharge today reconstituted the party’s top decision-making body – CWC – with some leaders of the G23 grouping, including Shashi Tharoor and Anand Sharma, who were critical of the party leadership in the past among the 84 members.

The all-important Congress Working Committee, formed 10 months after Kharge took charge after defeating Tharoor, includes several young faces who are below the age of 50 years, leaders from weaker sections and 15 women.

The new C.W.C. has 39 regular members, 32 permanent invitees, including some in-charges of states and 13 special invitees, including presidents of Youth Congress, National Students’ Union of India, Mahila Congress and the Seva Dal as ex-officio members.

Mukul Wasnik, Anand Sharma and Tharoor, who were part of the group of 23 dissident leaders who had written to then Congress’ president Sonia Gandhi and raised questions on the party’s leadership, are among the regular members of the new C.W.C.

Manish Tewari and Veerappa Moily, who were also part of the grouping, have been made permanent invitees to the C.W.C.

Sachin Pilot, who rebelled against the party’s government in Rajasthan in 2020 and was later removed as deputy chief minister, is also among the new C.W.C. members.

Prominent exclusions in the new C.W.C. include ex-M.P. from Rajasthan Raghuveer Singh Meena, Jai Prakash Aggarwal, Dinesh Gundu Rao, H.K. Patil, K.H. Muniappa, P.L. Punia, Pramod Tiwari and Raghu Sharma.

May be an image of 2 people and dais

About the author

The Bharat India

TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM is India's Best Hindi /English News Channel.TheBharat-A Media Initiative of ITM News Channel Covers The Latest News, Breaking News, Politics, Entertainment News, Business News and Sports News. Stay tuned for all the News in Hindi/English.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment